The Virginia Peninsulas Public Service Authority (VPPSA) is a regional governmental agency established as a political subdivision of the State, in 1989 under the Virginia Water and Waste Authorities Act.

VPPSA was established to offer solid waste management services to the member cities and counties that are implemented through service agreements executed by both VPPSA and the member jurisdiction.

Board of Directors

VPPSA is governed by a Board of Directors made up of one representative from each member city and county and appointed by the City Council or the County Board of Supervisors. The governing body of each member may also appoint an alternate who will represent the member jurisdiction in the absence of the appointed Board member.


An administrative staff of six employees provides support for all VPPSA operations from the administrative office located in James City County.

The Middle Peninsula Field Office in Middlesex County serves as the base for dispatchers and supervisors for all operations on the Middle Peninsula.

The Compost Facility, located in York County, has an office for the facility supervisor.


Regularly scheduled meetings of the VPPSA Board of Directors include the regular Board meetings, meetings of the Middle Peninsula Transfer System Oversight Committee and the Compost Facility Oversight Committee. All of these meetings are open to the public.

Administrative Office
475 McLaws Circle, Suite 3B
Williamsburg, Virginia 23185
Fax 757-259-9855

Field Office and Maintenance Facility
480 Clancie Road
Shacklefords, Virginia 23156
Fax 804-758-4263

Compost Facility
145 Goodwin Neck Road
Yorktown, Virginia 23692
Fax 757-898-0641